Building Connections, Changing Lives: My Rotaract Story

During the golden era of my Rotaract journey I embarked on two different clubs. I was on an inquisitive mission and that is when I encountered the Rotaract Club of Colombo Central and was given a warm welcome from Rtr. Dilushi Rachel. I was in a Hobson’s choice dilemma on preceding as a BOD member or take up an opportunity where I could nurture and stem my Rotaract journey as a general member. By weighing the pros and cons I chose the later circumstance. The day after I join Rotaract Club of Colombo Central I took part in my first project Zero Hunger which was an international service project.

As a young explorer I was given the opportunity to host and administer RoTransylvania’22. The exposure I gained through this gigantic project, gave me the experience that I always looked for.

In the process, I also took part in Rotaract leadership training seminars. Which gave me invaluable insight and an opportunity to build bonds with distinctive Rotaract clubs. In the long run, these valuable partnerships played a key factor in aiding me in my private/public life which helped me perform my civil duties as a Rotaractor.

Following this I was appointed as the Club Service and Sports & Recreational Activities Avenue coordinator in RI 22-23. I was also given the opportunity to administer and chair RCL scrims 1.0 and Clash of Capitals, multitude projects. All of this gave me the honour of becoming the best supportive and dedicated general member of the RI 22-23. I would like to convey my heartfelt gratitude to all of whom helped me in achieving this and enlightened me with their guidance to make RI 22-23 a year with lots of treasured memories.

Award best supportive and dedicated general member

On this note, we are delighted to start our new year of RI 23-24. I am honoured to be appointed as the Director of Sports and Recreational Activities for this year and I am looking forward to chairing upcoming projects as well.

Penned By: Rtr. Hasith Hettiarachchi

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started