How I joined Rotaract

This isn’t your typical Rotaract story. Mostly because people usually join Rotaract during or before university. But what makes my story completely different is that I was not even aware of the fact that I had joined a club. Let me start from the beginning.

I had already finished my degree and was abroad searching for a master’s degree when two of my friends called, and said “Guess what?”. Recalling all the memes and stickers I could send in reply, I thought of various possibilities. But never in million years did I think they’d say, “We joined Rotaract!” They asked me to join as well, but since at the time I was abroad and searching for masters I declined, but I made them aware that I was returning for graduation.

After I returned home a few months later, I was catching up with my friends when I found my self heading with them to meet a “friend” in Moratuwa. As you all have already figured out, I was clueless as to who or what in the world was happening. We met a guy called Mendis and a few others who were already there. He explained who everyone is and introduced himself as the vice president of the Rotaract club of Colombo Central. Not knowing how to process all this, I asked my friends why I am here, and they answered “Welcome to Rotaract!”.

That same day, I attended my first general meeting, ran around with rice packets to sell for a fundraiser and met multiple people. Amazing people I must say. But since it was my first time meeting them, it was bit awkward. But learned that day that doing Rotaract is great. Even if it is a bit hectic, it’s about community service. And while I was not aware that I had joined this club my name was already added by none other than my two friends.

So the moral of this story is to always know what you are saying yes to! In my case it turned out to be for a good cause.

Penned by: Rtr. Dilshan Wickramatillake

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started